とんとん [Tong-Tong] Japanese Restaurant

This restaurant is probably one of the best tasting Japanese restaurant in Surabaya.This place is located at West Surabaya and nestled inside an small single building apartment complex called the Beverly. This place has been opened for ages, they relocated from the Bunderan Tol complex.

It specializes in Ramen and Donburis. The restaurant has a great variety of japanese dishes, from appetizers such as Chashu, to Cold Noodles for the summer day. One of my favorite appetizer would be the Gyoza. Hands down the best gyoza in Surabaya!

Yes!! and the best sauce that would certainly goes with it would be soy sauce, a dash of vinegar, a squirt of lime juice, and chilli oil. This combination is to die for. Plus Tong Tong also serves the bigger size of the gyozas!

Here you go for the main dish, I called for the Chashu Wang Tang Men, it is a combination of Chashu and Wontons! The shoyu broth is beautifully seasoned the perfect balanced of dashi, soy sauce and I think some chicken broth. I am not to fond with the meat that is wrapped inside the wontons, I found it a little chewy and flavorless although, the skin is to my liking!

This one next is a side dish called Motsuni. It is apparently a new dish! It is curry-flavored pork intestines. The fragrant of the dish is quite appealing however, I can’t say the same with the taste. I think that I should go a little stronger on the salt. Nevertheless, the turnip was cooked to perfection!

Last but not the least, this is would be one of the go-to dishes when I don’t feel so well,… it is a fried rice wrapped in an omelet and glazed or should I say bathed in a sweet gravy-liked sauce. The balance of the delicious tasting fried rice and the egg is match made in heaven!

All in all, this place has never failed me EVER! unless, there isn’t any seat for me when I intend to savor their DELICIOUS offerings.

Tong Tong Japanese Restaurant

Jl. H.R Muhammad (Kompleks Apartement Beverly), Surabaya

+62-31-732 8847

Leave a comment